If I were a gambling woman…

My 10 day scan was this morning. I was very pleased to see 5 good follies on my right ovary and a few smaller guys. The smaller ones probably won’t catch up at this point. There were a few follies on my left ovary, but I never count those as they have never been able to retrieve from my left as it is a bit shy and hides under my bowel. After the scan, I was speaking to the Sister and saying best case for retrieval is probably 3, worst case is 1. Then we will just need to see how many embies we get. It really is a gambling game this IVF.

So a few more days of stims. They have dropped me down to 2 Menopur (instead of 3) and 1 Fostimon for the next couple of days. I have another scan on Monday and ER will most likely be Wednesday or maybe Thursday. My inlaws arrive Thursday afternoon….so it looks like I will have ER before they arrive…phew!

I can feel my ovaries, they are starting to get a bit sore. Poor DH is also taking a beating as I am quite hormonal. I go from angry – to crying – to slightly hysterical. So I am working hard to keep calm and relaxed, as well as keep some sane perspective on everything. The hormonal thing really sneaks up on you. I had a ‘moment’ yesterday where I completely lost the plot. As I was having my meltdown I actually thought to myself – you are hysterical. So I realised that I am definitely a bit of a hormonal mess at the moment.

So now I am snuggled up on the couch with my tea and my cat….soaking up the last days of the Olympics. I have been watching the 10m diving and am convinced someone is going to crack their head on that concrete slab. Freaky!

2 thoughts on “If I were a gambling woman…

Please reply if you would like to....

