Thoughts on Omega’s

I have been reading some intriguing research around omega 3 & 6 during pregnancy. The evidence is there for taking it during pregnancy; more specifically in the third trimester and while breast feeding.

What I am interested in knowing is the level of benefit during the first and second trimester. Of course the manufacturers state ‘throughout’ because it is not harmful, but helps their bottom line if women take it throughout pregnancy. However, this stuff is expensive….and you must take the good stuff so it won’t get cheaper with other brands. So if the benefits are lower or minimal in the first or second trimester…then I would wait to start taking it. But I can’t find anything about the specific benefits by trimester.

Ladies, what so you think? Is it worthwhile taking throughout the pregnancy or starting at a specific point. I see the sister next week for my intralipid so will also ask her opinion.

20130908-065300.jpg

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Omega’s

  1. Hi Nellie, Congratulations on your pregnancy! I’m so happy for you!

    I’m a firm believer that Omega 3 is really good for baby, and I took the maximum dosage right through my pregnancy and from birth until recently for breastfeeding. Our little boy is such an intelligent little guy he amazes us all the time and I believe the omega 3 supplements I took helped with the brain building.

    I read an article the other day where they tested all the omega 3 supplements on the market in South Africa, and the one that was the best value for money and in the top 3 was Medi Rite’s Omega 3 EPA & DHA Concentrate and that is available at Checkers for about R70.00 for 90 capsules. Before that I use to take Revite’s Omega 3 capsules which are also not too expensive, and is often on special at Clicks and Dischem, and that was also in the top 3 if I remember correctly. (sorry I don’t have the name of the magazine where this article appeared – I read it at my MIL’s house)

    I only took evening primrose oil supplements (omega 6) while ttc and during the last 4 weeks of pregnancy because it softens the cervix. Generally I don’t take omega 6 supplements because we get enough of that in our diets.

Please reply if you would like to....

