Scans….and plans…..and hospital bags….Oh my!

Image

I am so lucky….I am having the most uneventful pregnancy ever!  That means that I have very little to write about.  So sorry for the long delays in between posts.  Also apologies because this post doesn’t have a theme, it is a mish-mash of whatever came out of my brain.

DH and I just got back from the hospital where we had our 4D scan.  I was expecting something a little more eventful.  I guess for ‘regular’ pregnant ladies, the 4D is very exciting, as they don’t have many scans.  With me, I had a scan every 2 weeks until around 16 weeks, then one every four weeks.  My Dr has a 3D scanner, so I have had lots of opportunities to see this little guy.  I am completely spoiled, but after my long journey…I deserve it!

We were able to see his face a bit better though, and spend time on the more aesthetic pleasures of growing a baby rather than just measurements.  We saw his loads of hair!  So if the old wives tales are true, that explains the unending heartburn that I am experiencing (I should have bought shares in Gaviscon, as it is a staple in my diet these days).  We also saw his long legs!  The technician even commented on his strong calf muscles.  So this also explains the quick sharp jabs to my side.  Although I must say, he is not a very active baby, he is pretty gentle most of the time and kicks to the sides.  I haven’t felt these kicks to major organs, or worse (at least I hear they are) sharp kicks to the hoo-hoo. 

However, this was not our only scan this week!  We were at the Drs office yesterday and had another scan…but that was all measurements.  His heartrate is good, measuring 144bpm, so right in the middle of the average range.  He is also around 1.4kgs at 29 weeks.  So he is a bit ahead in his growth.  I asked the Dr if this meant he might come early, and he said, “No, you are just probably going to have a big baby!”.  I laughed out loud at that.  He is really getting a sense of humour.  I guess that is what happens when you no longer have to talk about serious decisions and bad results…..and doom and gloom.  I must say, I am really enjoying this new side of my Drs appts.  I actually breathe in the waiting room, and read magazines, and am relaxed!  It’s amazing!  So this is what fertiles feel like?  I could get used to this!  The Dr also looked at the umbilical cord blood flow and all is good.  My amniotic fluid is also good, which surprised me because I feel like I am constantly dehydrated and I know I don’t drink enough water…or any fluid for that matter.

We also spoke about flying, as I have to fly next week for a teaching contract.  But I will still be 29 weeks and the Dr gave me a note, so it should be fine.  We are also considering flying to a wedding in March that is 1400kms away.  We were going to drive to the wedding, but I will be 34 weeks then, and as long as all is still fine in the pregnancy, the airline says I can fly up until 36 weeks.  We were going to drive over three days and turn it into a little ‘babymoon’, but I am so nervous about being in the middle of nowhere at 34 weeks in case something does happen.  So we are going to consider flying.

My baby shower is on 08 March!!!  Now this is what I have been waiting for my whole pregnancy, a chance to celebrate with all my friends and colleagues.  All of my family live in another country, so these milestones make me so homesick.  So I invited every woman I have ever bumped into!  I figure it would have been a big affair at home, so I need to make it a big affair here!  My close friends here are hosting and we will have around 35 people coming.  I am so excited to see everyone, I just never thought I would have a baby shower, and it is so nice to finally celebrate something!

So I am about 10 weeks away from full-term, and I have also not bought anything!  Well, that’s not totally true.  I did buy a crap load of towels on sale.  A few friends and colleagues have given me a few early gifts of clothes.  Oh, and diapers were on sale a few weeks ago and I broke down and bought two big packs.  But that’s it.  I wanted to wait until after the baby shower to see what I need.  Of course, we still need the big stuff, car seat, stroller, crib…..but we will get that after we come back from the wedding.  A friend of mine has also offered me all of her stuff, as her little one is now three years old and having a second is not really panning out for her.  She also struggles with infertility and her first was a battle, so she was never really convinced a second was an option.  However, I don’t want to take her stuff if she is not ready to let go of it, as I am sure it holds a lot of emotion for her.  So we will see how she feels in a few weeks.

We also spoke to the Dr about what kind of delivery we can expect.  I am getting so many questions from people and so much pressure to make a decision….it is a little ridiculous.  So the Dr said exactly what I have been saying (phew!), that it is too soon and lots can change from now until delivery, but as of now all options are open to me and he will support whatever I want or need, as long as there are no medical complications.  Huge sigh of relief!  I feel so much pressure from people to make a decision, when I don’t really feel the decision to have a c-section is in my hands.  I don’t come from a country that supports elective c-sections, so it is a little strange for me.  I am just so happy that my Dr is open and supports whatever I want.  I have talked to so many women who didn’t have a choice, a c-section was all they were offered.  I am sorry, but I would change doctors….I can’t believe women believe they don’t have a choice!  So very sad.

I am still loving the book ‘Bringing up Bébé’, I re-read sections all the time.  I made the mistake of watching the first 30 minutes of ‘The Business of Being Born’, and hated it!  It was a little too anti-medical establishment for me.  I don’t believe in ‘being a hero’ and having a natural birth without pain medication just to prove you can do it.  Like it is a trophy or you are a stronger woman because you did.  That documentary made me feel that anyone who didn’t want to have a home birth in a tub was a sell-out.  I think there are choices you can make, and some you can’t.  Every birth is different, and to turn birthing into a competition for women against women is ludicrous.  However, I have a feeling that ‘being a hero’ is an American perspective, as the country I am in is completely opposite…..to the other extreme.  I just want to find my happy place.

Ok….last comment, or actually it is a question.  What did you pack in your hospital bag?  I need to start thinking about that.

5 thoughts on “Scans….and plans…..and hospital bags….Oh my!

  1. I am loving “typical” visits to my doctor too! So glad you are feeling good and all is well! 😉

    The Business of Being Born is a bit hardcore, but good if you want to go that route. I’m like you- somewhere in between 😉 At the end, all that matters is baby is here and healthy.
    As for my bag, the only thing I would add were nail clippers or mittins for baby. My Eli scratched his face to death in the hospital because we didn’t know to bring those things!

  2. I had two bags: 1. Labour ward 2. Maternity ward. Labour bag had : snacks and Gatorade for both of us, iPod with playlist for birth, birth plan, a few washers, labour tens machine, camera and charger, phone chargers, change of outfit for both of us, a few toiletries, mouthwash in case of chucking.

    2. Maternity ward had big undies in case of c section (they just feel better post birth anyway), a few nighties and gown, slippers, going home outfit and wrap for bub, makeup( lots of visitors and photos, you feel more human), nice toiletries, washers, a couple of packs of maternity pads and breast pads in case you don’t like hospitals ones. And a couple of “going to yoga” type outfits, think soft waists and baggy. Breastfeeding bras, sleep bras for the leakathon.

Please reply if you would like to....

